top of page




The Florida Insurance Fraud Education Committee (FIFEC) is currently seeking Award nominations of exceptional individuals for the 32nd Annual Joint DIFS/SIU Conference in Orlando, Florida July 26-28, 2024. 


General Qualifications:

(excluding Jerry Zappolo Distinguished Service Award)

  • Nominations are limited to concluded cases/investigations that significantly impact Florida’s fight against insurance fraud that may include arrests but not necessarily convictions, financial settlements/restitution, administrative actions, or claim withdrawals occurring during 2023-2024.

  • A nominee will not be eligible for multiple awards involving the same case/investigation.

  • A Manager of the case/investigation conducted by a lead investigator/detective of the insurance fraud investigation is not eligible for an award.

  • Nominations must include specific details about the actions the nominee undertook to advance the investigation that achieved a positive outcome.

  • Basic office skills such as returning phone calls, scheduling appointments, attending meetings, etc. will not be considered as qualifying criteria.

2024 Law Enforcement Insurance Fraud Fighter


  • Nominee qualification: Florida law enforcement official, law enforcement analyst, or law enforcement prosecutor.


2024 Insurance Industry Fraud Fighter


  • Nominee qualification: Florida insurance professionals such as an investigator, agent, analyst, consultant, or an insurance defense attorney.


2024 Guy E. “Sandy” Burnette Team Award


  • Nominee qualification: A list of integral participants who were the lead individuals in the joint insurance fraud investigation effort. This list must include an individual from at least three categories from the following agencies/insurance companies:​

    • FBI agent or other federal agencies

    • Law enforcement lead official

    • Law enforcement prosecutor

    • Insurance company lead   

The 2024 Jerry Zappolo Distinguished Service Award


The Jerry Zappolo Distinguished Service Award is the highest honor and most prestigious award presented to individuals by the FIFEC Board of Directors. It recognizes an individual member of the profession who has had a sustained impact at the local, national, or international level that resulted in significant contributions to pursuing and eliminating insurance fraud. This award celebrates those who embody the intellect, integrity, leadership, and accomplishment that define absolute excellence in the fraud fighting profession.  


The nominee for this category should be an individual who has significantly contributed to the public’s understanding of insurance fraud’s impact on society, and how they may be proactive in the fight against insurance fraud.


Nominations are not limited to a specific year; however, the “years” and related “activities” of the nominee’s involvement are requested.


The Jerry Zappolo Distinguished Service Award is not necessarily an annual award, but rather a special recognition that may or may not be awarded each year.

Guy for web.jpg
Jerry for web.jpg

FIFEC will confirm the receipt of your nomination via email. The Awards Committee may contact you to discuss additional details or nomination status, if merited.

The nominee will be sent a copy of your nomination write-up with a questionnaire for information regarding their specific identification, their background, and an opportunity to submit additional information regarding their investigation/case, and document/photo upload.  This questionnaire must be returned by the nominee within 7 days of its receipt, or the nomination may be ineligible for consideration.

All qualified nominees will be recognized during the Opening Ceremony on Wednesday, June 26, 2024. During this ceremony, the Award recipients will be announced and presented Award trophies honoring their outstanding contributions to the fight against insurance fraud.


For additional FIFEC Awards information, please e-mail us at and add this e-mail address to your safe senders list.


FIFEC reserves the right to disqualify or exclude any nomination that does not fully meet and maintain the high standards that reflect the mission of FIFEC.  To be considered for a FIFEC award, nominees must be a Florida member in good standing with IASIU, a law enforcement officer, and employee of DIFS or a prosecutor/insurance attorney.


The FIFEC Awards Committee and FIFEC Executive Committee decisions are final.

committee contacts


Anthony Parker

National General,

an Allstate Company

904-536-5389 Office


Mark Johnson
Division of Investigative &

Forensic Services

Juli Hyde

Farmers Insurance


Janice Young
Retired - SIU

bottom of page